Interest Groups

AAUW-Milwaukee Book Club
Books to be Read and Discussed in 2016-2017

October 25, 2016 Book Discussion:
All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr, Anne Lehman Discussion Leader

November 22, 2016 Book Discussion:
French Rhapsody by Antoine Laurain and Emily Boyce, Benita Clark Discussion Leader

December – No Meeting

January 24, 2017

February 28, 2017

March 28, 2017

April 25, 2017

May 23, 2017

June, July, August – No Meetings Scheduled

September 26, 2017 Organizational Meeting

October 24, 2017

Books Chosen for Discussion.
(Discussion Leaders and Dates to be Determined at October 25th Meeting)

  1. Being Mortal: Medicine and What Matters in the End by Atul Gawande (Proposed by Benita Clark)
  2. Elizabeth & Hazel: Two Women of Little Rock by David Margolick (Proposed by Ellie Moseley)
  3. The Little Paris Bookshop by Nina George (Proposed by Donna Jordahl)
  4. A Man Called Ove by Fredrik Backman (Proposed by Donna Jordahl)
  5. When Books Went to War: The Stories That Helped Us Win World War II by Molly Guptill Manning (Proposed by Anne Bales)
  6. When Everything Changed: The Amazing Journey of American Women from 1960 to the Present by Gail Collins (Proposed by Sharon Munson)

Other Books Proposed:

  1. The Devil in the White City: Murder, Magic, and Madness at the Fair That Changed America,by Erik Larson
  2. The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins
  3. Florence Gordon by Brian Morton
  4. The Most Beautiful Walk in the World: A Pedestrian in Paris by John Baxter
  5. The Paris Architect by Charles Belfoure
  6. The Professor and the Madman: A Tale of Murder, Insanity, and the Making of the Oxford English Dictionary by Simon Winchester
  7. Winter by Christopher Nicholson
  8. World War II in Milwaukee by Meg Jones


  1. June Albert
  2. Benita Clark
  3. Anne Bales
  4. Judy Dawson
  5. Mary Fiedler
  6. Donna Jordahl
  7. Linda Jenzake
  8. Joanne Johnson
  9. Rita MacDonald (New)
  10. Ellie Moseley
  11. Nancy Nohl
  12. Janet Nortrom
  13. Anne Lehman
  14. Sharon Munson
  15. Antoine Laurain